20170619 Tasmanian Lightning Championships.png
20170619 Tasmanian Lightning Championships.png

from 0.00

The Tasmanian Lightning Championships will be held on the 18th of August in Hobart at AT AREA 52 - 104 ELIZABETH ST, HOBART TAS 7000.

Even if you select to pay on the day, you must complete the Checkout Process to register your entry correctly.

ENTER the Tasmanian Lightning Championships


9 round Swiss. 3 minutes plus 2 seconds per move per player.


Saturday the 18th of August:

  • Opening Ceremony - 6:45pm after round 4 of the Tasmanian Rapid Championships
  • Round 1 Start - 7:00pm
  • All rounds to proceed as soon as the previous has concluded.
  • Short breaks will be provided after rounds 3 and 6.


Entries for this event are online & on the day.

Entries for this event close on Saturday the 18th of August at 6:45pm.

Entry fees may be paid on the day in CASH or online prior to the event by CREDIT CARD.

  • All Competitors $10

In accordance with section 3 of the TCA Constitution, Tasmanian players not already a member of the TCA must pay an Individual TCA Membership levy in addition to their entry fee. This fee entitles the individual to all items listed under rule 3.2 of the constitution until the commencement of the next TCA financial year (rule 6.5)


  • 1st 50%
  • 2nd 25%
  • 3d 15%
  • Junior 10%


The TCA will confer the title of Tasmanian Lightning Champion to all 1st place finishers of this event.


Ian Little.


Chief Arbiter - Ian Little (Hobart). 2 deputy arbiters will appointed on day 1 of the event.


FIDE Laws 2014 apply – ringing mobiles will incur automatic loss. Entrants agree to abide by all decisions of the organisers and arbiters. The organisers reserve the right to make any changes required.