Glen Gibbs Memorial Award

The Glen Gibbs Memorial Award honours the memory of Glen Gibbs (1935-2010), who worked in junior chess at many tournaments around the state during his life.  One promising junior player is recognised every year.  The award is made possible thanks to the generosity of Maria Gibbs in memory of her late husband.

The winner of the Award each year receives financial assistance and a medal. 

Applications are  considered based on the following criteria:

  • Player's playing strength

  • Player's strength for their age

  • Enthusiasm for chess as demonstrated by regular competition

  • Recent strong results

The award may only be won once by any player.



2011 Mason Carter
2012 Davis Kim
2013 Yuvini Perera
2014 Bradley Vince
2015 William Rumley
2016 Andrew Smith
2017 Luwanna Beeton
2018 Thomas Powell-Davies