Glen Gibbs Memorial - Call for Nominations.


The Glen Gibbs Memorial Award is a prestigious award given to one of Tasmania's elite junior players.  Each year, the winner of the award will receive substantial financial assistance to compete in the Australian Junior Championships, as well as a medal and their name placed on a perpetual trophy.

The Glen Gibbs Award recognises the memory of Mr Glen Gibbs (1935-2010), who worked hard on junior chess in Tasmania.  The award has been made possible thanks to the generosity of Glen's widow, Mrs Maria Gibbs.

The winner of this year's Award will be determined by members of the TCA Executive and announced as soon as possible after the submissions closing date. 

Applications may be sent by a player, or by a parent or coach on the player's behalf, to the attention of TCA Secretary Mr Ian Little at by 5pm on Friday the 6th of November.  Late applications will not be accepted for any reason. 

Applications should briefly state why the player should be considered for the award based on the following criteria:

  • Player's playing strength
  • Player's strength for their age
  • Enthusiasm for chess as demonstrated by regular competition
  • Recent strong results

Applications may also include supporting statements from others who are familiar with the player's strengths.  Applications should be concise and definitely no more than three pages total.  The decision of the TCA Executive is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

The award may only be won once by any player.

All other inquiries should be directed to the TCA using the form below.

Name *
select one